5 Jobs I’d Prefer Over Web Design

Publicado: enero 16, 2011 en Informativos, Uncategorized

This is not a knock against my current area of work. I love what I do, and I don’t intend to change. But I think most of us think about what we might do (or what we might have done) if web design wasn’t in the equation.

In this case, though, I’m taking it a little further. Instead of just saying “here’s what I’d do if I couldn’t do web design”, this is actually a list of legitimate jobs that I would rather have if I could jump into them immediately and not do anything related to the field of web design. These are not necessarily in preferred order.

1. Naturopathic/Homeopathic Doctor

I think mainstream medicine sometimes has good intentions but is not always doing what’s best for public health. This often happens because of business requirements and pressure from pharmaceutical companies. Health care should not be a business. I’m not completely against mainstream medicine, but generally speaking, health care in North America is in a sad state. I’d love to be able to help in this area by promoting natural methods to complement (not necessarily replace) what mainstream medicine does.

2. Journalist

Okay, I kind of already do this when I write for various sites in the web development niche, but I don’t really have any formal journalism training. It would have been nice to have been able to get an education and pursue a career in this specific area. Journalism lets you be creative and logical. I guess that’s why I like programming and markup.

3. Baseball Player

No, it’s not for the money (although Major League Baseball’s “minimum wage” for a couple of years could help me retire before 40). I just think baseball is the greatest sport every invented, and is much more fun and strategic than most people outside the U.S. understand.

4. Baseball Writer

Due to the previous two, isn’t this one obvious?

5. Documentary Film Maker

There’s too much wrong with this world. It would be great to be able to investigate people, places, nature, and corporations, and analyze them in film in factual but creative ways.

Responder

